2016
Invited Urban Study

Muttenz Campus
Master Plan

Urban Study, School & Sport Facilities Basel-Landschaft
Switzerland

AREA

56'000 M2

AWARDS

SELECTED

Muttenz High Schools Campus Master Plan, Muttenz, CH

During the 1950s large areas of land were made available, as building plots, to meet the demand of a falsely anticipated population growth - which did not materialise - leading to a slow and low density built up of scarce, loose and poorly defined urban fabric.


The existing school campus is situated in-between a residential fine grain fabric to the south and loose large industrial structures to the north, while it reads as an isolated cluster, developed on a split-level above ground.


The challenge for this project, beyond the extension and refurbishment of the existing High School buildings lies in creating links and in mitigating the scalar and contextual disparities between the adjacent fabrics, so that the space around and within the campus is made occupiable.

The development of the Master Plan for Muttenz High School Campus illustrates our Studio’s considered approach to reading and responding to a challenging and complex context and to manifesting its potential, revealing a design that completes and creates legible adjacencies, both in terms of programmatic use and in terms of figure and composition.


The Muttenz High School Masterplan poses design objectives related to place-making, providing a wide range of spaces for social activity, redirecting pedestrian flows and ultimately transcribing a sense of community and identity between students of diverse backgrounds and different curriculums.

Client:

Canton of Basel-Land

Team:

Landscape Architect: Westpol Landscape Architects

westpol.ch

2016
Testplanung auf Einladung

Muttenz SEK-II
Schul- Masterplan

Städtebauliche Studie, Schulen und Sportanlagen Basel-Landschaft
Schweiz

GESAMTFLÄCHE

56'000 M2

AUSZEICHNUNGEN

EMPFEHLUNG

Muttenz SEK-II Schulen, Muttenz, CH

Um die Nachfrage eines erwarteten Bevölkerungswachstums zu decken wurden in den 1950er-Jahren grosse Flächen als Bauland zur Verfügung gestellt. Da sich dieses Wachstum nicht einstellte, entstand auf dem Areal ein lockerer, langsam wachsender und räumlich schlecht definierter Stadtraum.


Auch der bestehende Schulcampus zeigt sich als isolierter Cluster auf einem Podium zwischen dem fein-körnigen Wohnquartier im Süden und der offenen, gross-masstäblichen Industriezone im Norden.


Unser Ansatz basierte auf der Erforschung und einer Reaktion auf diesen anspruchsvollen und komplizierten Kontext und wird im Masterplan des Muttenzer Hochschul-Campus veranschaulicht; das vorhandene Potential wird erschlossen und der Entwurf ergänzt die programmatischen Nutzung formal und erzeugte eine verständliche Stadtstruktur.

Der Muttenzer Hochschul-Masterplan beantwortet die gestellte Aufgabe mit der Schaffung einer Vielzahl von Orten hoher Aufenthaltsqualität, so entstehen unterschiedliche Plätze für soziale Interaktion, Fussgängerströme werden in die richtigen Bahnen gelenkt woraus sich letztlich ein Gefühl zusammenhängenden und identitätsstiftenden Gemeinschaft aus Schülern, Studenten, Lehrern und Bewohnern speisen kann.


Neben der Erweiterung und Sanierung der bestehenden Hochschulgebäude und der Schaffung neuer räumlicher Verbindungen war der Ausgleich der masstäblichen und kontextuellen Ungleichheiten der angrenzenden Quartiere ein wichtiger Teil der Aufgabenstellung. Darüberhinaus sollte der öffentliche Raum inner- und ausserhalb des Campus zugänglich gemacht und dadurch belebt werden.

Auftraggeber:

Kanton Basel-Land

Team:

Landschaftsarchitekt: Westpol Landscape Architects

westpol.ch