2020
Competition

Papieri Areal

Residential Highrise Cham
Switzerland

Urban planning and architectural concept

The topography sloping from north to south, the Ringstrasse as the central access element, the newly built long house as well as the silo building and boiler house characterise and define the immediate urban space. With the silo building and the Kesselhaus, two powerful and expressive architectures mark the north-south axis. In subtle reaction to this, the indicative project for housing proposes twin towers in the reduced form of standing blocks. Arranged diagonally and staggered, the high-rise buildings mark the north-south axis and, in interaction with the long building, the silo building and the Kesselhaus, form a spatially staggered square figure.

From this specification we derived the task to design quiet, regularly structured twin towers, which draw their lively expression from the diversity of living. On the other hand, a new silo building is to be created, which forms an expressive vis à vis to the Kesselhaus and self-consciously manifests its public function.

The reduced architectural form of the residential buildings thus derived goes hand in hand with the rational and efficient structure that is mandatory for high-rise buildings, and in particular high-rise buildings in timber construction.

The program provides for a wide range of different types of housing, from micro apartments to spacious condominiums. In accordance with the urban planning and economic requirements, it was our concern to develop a structural and constructive concept for the high-rise residential buildings that can meet the different needs with minor adjustments and that is valid for both Residential Tower K (rental) and Residential Tower I (ownership). In this way, efficient and economical processes can be established in the planning, production and construction of the high-rise buildings.

Consequently, the footprints of the two high-rise buildings are almost identical, with slight deviations in length and width due to the different axle dimensions. Especially in their length, the high-rise buildings fall short of the possible extension of the construction sites. This results in a generous overlap of the two halves of the square. At the same time, a colonnade in Residential Tower I emphasises the north-south axis and, as a covered square, creates a further, welcome quality of outdoor space. The rear entrance façade of Residential Tower I leads into a retaining wall, which in turn leads to a generous external staircase. This external staircase leads to a balcony facing the square and connects the square level with the important urbanistic junction of the Ringstrasse.

The balcony has many functions: It creates a covered entrance zone to the shop and a covered bicycle parking area at the level of the square, serves as an access level to the offices and the kindergarten and reproduces the original volume of the silo building. The outer courtyard of the nursery also reproduces the footprint of the original building and at the same time creates a secure outdoor space for the small children.

Team:

Architecture: Harry Gugger Studio

Timber construction engineering: ERNE AG Holzbau

Structural engineering: MWV Ingenieure AG

Building Technology: Polke Ziege von Moos

EMP engineering: Wichser Akustik & Bauphysik AG

Visualisations: Filippo Bolognese Images

2020
Wettbewerb

Papieri Areal

WOHNHOCHHAUS Cham
Switzerland

Städtebauliches und architektonisches Konzept

Die von Norden nach Süden abfallende Topographie, die Ringstrasse als zentrales Erschliessungselement, das neu entstehende Langhaus sowie das Silogebäude und Kesselhaus prägen und fassen den unmittelbaren Stadtraum. Mit dem Silogebäude und dem Kesselhaus markieren zwei kräftige und expressive Architekturen die Nord- Südachse. In subtiler Reaktion darauf schlägt das Richtprojekt für das Wohnen Zwillingstürme in der reduzierten Form von stehenden Quadern vor. Diagonal versetzt angeordnet markieren die Hochhäuser die Nord - Südachse und spannen im Zusammenspiel mit dem Langhaus, dem Silogebäude und dem Kesselhaus eine räumlich gestaffelte Platzfigur auf.

Aus dieser Vorgabe leiten wir den Auftrag ab ruhige, regelmässig strukturierte Zwillingstürme zu konzipieren, die ihren lebendigen Ausdruck aus der Vielfalt des Wohnens beziehen. Dagegen aber soll ein neues Silogebäude entstehen, das zum Kesselhaus ein ausdrucksstarkes Vis à Vis bildet und seine öffentliche Funktion selbstbewusst manifestiert.

Die so hergeleitete, reduzierte architektonische Form der Wohnhäuser geht einher mit der rationalen und effizienten Struktur die für Hochhäuser, und im speziellen Hochhäuser in Holzbauweise zwingend ist.

Das Programm sieht ein weites Spektrum an unterschiedlichen Wohnformen, von Mikroapartments bis zu grosszügigen Eigentumswohnungen vor. Entsprechend den städtebaulichen und wirtschaftlichen Vorgaben war es uns ein Anliegen für die Wohnhochhäuser ein strukturelles und konstruktives Konzept zu entwickeln das mit geringfügigen Anpassungen die unterschiedlichen Bedürfnisse erfüllen kann und sowohl für den Wohnturm K (Miete) als auch für den Wohnturm I (Eigentum) seine Gültigkeit hat. So lassen sich in der Planung, der Produktion und dem Bau der Hochhäuser effiziente und wirtschaftliche Prozesse etablieren.

Folgerichtig ergeben sich für die beiden Hochhäuser beinahe identische Fussabdrücke mit, entsprechend den unterschiedlichen Achsmassen, geringfügigen Abweichungen in Länge und Breite. Vor allem in ihrer Länge unterschreiten die Hochhäuser die mögliche Ausdehnung der Baufelder. So ergibt sich eine grosszügige Überlappung der beiden Platzhälften. Gleichzeitig betont eine Kolonnade im Wohnturm I die Nord- Südachse und schafft als gedeckter Platz eine weitere, willkommene Aussenraumqualität. Die zurückliegende Eingangsfassade vom Wohnturm I geht in eine Stützmauer über die zu einer grosszügigen Aussentreppe führt. Diese Aussentreppe erschliesst einen Balkon zum Platz und verbindet das Platzniveau mit der städtebaulich bedeutenden Einmündung der Ringstrasse.

Der Balkon hat viele Aufgaben: Er schafft auf Platzniveau eine gedeckte Eingangszone zum Laden und einen gedeckten Fahrradabstellplatz, dient als Erschliessungsebene der Büroräumlichkeiten und der Kita und bildet das ursprüngliche Volumen des Silogebäudes ab. Auch der Aussenhof der Kita bildet den Fussabdruck des ursprünglichen Gebäudes ab und schafft gleichzeitig einen gesicherten Aussenraum für die Kleinkinder.

Team:

Architektur: Harry Gugger Studio

Holzbauingenieure: ERNE AG Holzbau

Ingenieure: MWV Ingenieure AG

Haustechnik: Polke Ziege von Moos

Bauphysik: Wichser Akustik & Bauphysik AG

Visualisierung: Filippo Bolognese Images