2015 - Ongoing
Direct Commission

Birseckstrasse

Housing Birsfelden
Switzerland

2015
Feasibility Study
2017
Guideline project
(monitoring board)
2018
Start of the district plan procedure
2020
Participatory procedure

Housing in the municipality of Birsfelden has been rejuvenated and upgraded only moderately over the past decades. Even the existing development at Birseckstrasse 2 - 14 no longer meets modern requirements in terms of living comfort and energy efficiency.

Following a negative opinion on the refurbishment of the property, the owner, CSA Real Estate Switzerland, an investment group of the Credit Suisse Investment Foundation, commissioned the architectural office Harry Gugger Studio and the landscape architects Westpol to conduct a feasibility study to examine the refurbishment or replacement of the buildings in 2015. At the same time, the potential for densification on this attractive and well-developed plot was to be explored.

In an iterative process between municipal authorities, the client and planners, a high-rise residential building with two point buildings emerged as the most socially and environmentally compatible solution. In a next step, the present indicative project was elaborated in an accompanying procedure with representatives of the municipality, the Areal Building Commission (ABK), the cantonal authorities and independent experts. The Building and Planning Commission (BPK) and the Birsfelden municipal council, as well as the cantonal ABK, have approved the project and the neighbourhood planning procedure now underway.

The residential tower occupies the southernmost building plot, located directly on the River Birs, and thus marks the beginning of the town centre. The renaturation of the Birs has created a valuable landscape area for the population in recent years. The densification through the residential tower and the two punctual houses allows the footprint of the new development on the Birs to be reduced, thus creating space for a public park and an extension of the Birs area.

145 very economically designed and attractive 1.5. to 5.5-room flats will be created, which will be priced in line with the current Birsfeld housing market. The ground floors will be kept open for communal use in relation to the parking area. This will create a contemporary residential complex which will allow the existing buildings to be replaced economically and at the same time create added value for the neighbourhood and Birsfelden thanks to the attractive open space with direct access to the Birs.

Auftraggeber

Credit Suisse Anlagestiftung

Real Estate Switzerland

Team

Architektur:

Harry Gugger Studio

2015 - Laufend
Direktauftrag

Birseckstrasse

Wohnungsbau Birsfelden
Schweiz

2015
Machbarkeitstudie
2017
Richtprojekt
(Begleitgremium)
2018
Anfang Quartierplan-Verfahren
2020
Mitwirkungsverfahren

Wohnraum ist in der Gemeinde Birsfelden während der letzten Jahrzehnte nur moderat verjüngt und aufgewertet worden. Auch die bestehende Bebauung Birseckstrasse 2 - 14 erfüllt die zeitgemässen Anforderungen an den Wohnkomfort und die energetische Leistungsfähigkeit der Gebäude nicht mehr.

Nach einer abschlägig beurteilten Prüfung der Instandsetzung der Liegenschaft beauftragte die Besitzerin, CSA Real Estate Switzerland, eine Anlagegruppe der Credit Suisse Anlagestiftung, 2015 das Architekturbüro Harry Gugger Studio und die Landschaftsarchitekten Westpol mit einer Machbarkeitsstudie zur Prüfung der Instandsetzung beziehungsweise von Ersatzneubauten beauftragt. Gleichzeitig sollte das Verdichtungspotenzial auf dieser attraktiven und gut erschlossenen Parzelle ausgelotet werden.

In einem iterativen Prozess zwischen Gemeindebehörden, Bauherrschaft und Planern hat sich ein Wohnhochhaus mit zwei Punkthäusern als die sozial- und umweltverträglichste Lösung herauskristallisiert. In einem nächsten Schritt wurde in einem Begleitverfahren mit Vertretern der Gemeinde, der Arealbaukommission (ABK), der Kantonsbehörden und unabhängigen Experten das vorliegende Richtprojekt ausgearbeitet. Die Bau und Planungskommission (BPK) und der Gemeinderat von Birsfelden sowie die ABK des Kantons haben dem Projekt und dem nun anlaufenden Quartierplanverfahren zugestimmt.

Der Wohnturm besetzt die südlichste, direkt an der Birs gelegene Bauparzelle und markiert so den Auftakt zum Ortszentrum. Durch die Renaturierung
der Birs wurde in den vergangenen Jahren ein wertvoller Landschaftsraum
für die Bevölkerung erschlossen. Die Verdichtung durch den Wohnturm und die beiden Punkthäuser erlaubt die Reduktion des Fussabdruckes der neuen Bebauung am und schafft so Platz für eine öffentlich durchgängige Parkanlage und eine Erweiterung des Birsraums.

Es werden 145 sehr ökonomisch geschnittene und attraktive 1.5. bis 5.5-Zimmer-Wohnungen entstehen, die sich preislich im gängigen Birsfelder Wohnungsmarkt bewegen werden. Die Erdgeschosse sollen im Bezug auf den Parkraum für gemeinschaftliche Nutzungen offen gehalten werden. So entsteht eine zeitgenössische Wohnanlage die den wirtschaftlichen Ersatz der Bestandsbebauung ermöglicht und dank dem attraktiven Freiraum mit direktem Zugang zur Birs gleichzeitig einen Mehrwert für das Quartier und Birsfelden schafft.

Auftraggeber

Credit Suisse Anlagestiftung

Real Estate Switzerland

Team

Architektur:

Harry Gugger Studio