2021
Competition

Turnhalle Steig

Education Schaffausen
Switzerland

The Old Observatory, not only served educational purposes, but was also available to the general population. It embodies the school's claim to also serve as a neighborhood center and, as an instrument of enlightenment, symbolizes the educational ideals of the school. In its construction, which seems both futuristic and archaic, it stands both for enduring values and for the dawn of the future.

For all these reasons, it seems obvious to revive the material and formal characteristics of the Old Observatory in the school's new building.
Therefore, the two access buildings reflect these characteristics, but at the same time also the urban planning and constructional requirements for the new building.

For its part, the Old Observatory, located at the interface with the sports facilities and in keeping with its playful expression, is to become a place of play. As such, it houses the outdoor playground equipment and a playroom. Thus, the old observatory acts as a hinge between the mineral schoolyard and the park-like green area in the south of the site. It remains visible from Stokarbergstrasse and acts as an attraction in the depth of the site.

The school complex receives three entrances from Stokarbergstrasse. Two of them are reserved for pedestrians, the existing entrance between the Steig school buildings 1 and 2, and the new entrance between the old Steig school building and the new building. The new entrance also serves as fire department access to the schoolyard.

The access for cars, bicycles and the fire department to the old people's and nursing home forms the third entrance. This is located between the new building and the nursing home. Six parking spaces are located along the parcel boundary and between the existing sycamore trees. Bicycle parking is located under the old observatory and in a shelter along Friedbergstrasse. This shelter also serves as container storage.

In this way, the schoolyard can be kept free of any forced furniture and a generous all-weather square can be arranged for which an asphalt surface with an interspersion of light-colored pebbles is planned. This gives the all-weather court a friendly and robust character and makes it an ideal playground.

2. Untergeschoss

1. Untergeschoss

Erdgeschoss

2. Obergeschoss

1. Obergeschoss

Längsschnitt/ Ansicht Ost

Querschnitt/ Ansicht Nord

Architecture:

Harry Gugger Studio

Civil Engineer:

Eitel & partner

Landscape architecture:

Studio Céline Baumann

Building Technology:

Waldhauser + Hermann AG

EMP Engineer:

Gartenmann Engineering AG

Façade planning:

PPEngineering GmbH

Fireprotection:

Quantum Brandschutz GmbH

Visualisation:

The Image Guy

2021
Wettbewerb

Turnhalle Steig

Bildung Schaffausen
Schweiz

Die Alte Sternwarte, als Schul- und Volkssternwarte errichtet, diente nicht nur schulischen Zwecken, sondern stand auch der breiten Bevölkerung zur Verfügung. So verkörpert sie den Anspruch der Schule auch als Quartierzentrum zu dienen und versinnbildlicht, als Instrument der Aufklärung, die pädagogischen Ideale der Schule. In ihrer gleichsam futuristisch wie archaisch anmutenden Konstruktion steht sie sowohl für bleibende Werte als auch für den Aufbruch in die Zukunft.
Aus all diesen Gründen scheint es naheliegend die materiellen und formalen Eigenschaften der Alten Sternwarte im Neubau der Schule aufleben zu lassen.
So reflektieren die beiden Erschliessungsbauten diese Eigenschaften, aber gleichzeitig auch die städtebaulichen und konstruktiven Anforderungen an den Neubau.

Die Alte Sternwarte ihrerseits soll, an der Nahtstelle zu den Sportanlagen gelegen und ihrem spielerischen Ausdruck entsprechend, zum Spielort werden. Sie beherbergt als solcher die Aussenspielgeräte und ein Spielzimmer. So wirkt die alte Sternwarte als Scharnier zwischen dem mineralischen Schulhof und der parkartigen Grünfläche im Süden des Areals. Von der Stokarbergstrasse bleibt sie weiterhin sichtbar und wirkt als Anziehungspunkt in der Tiefe des Areals.

Die Schulanlage erhält drei Eingänge von der Stokarbergstrasse. Zwei davon sind den Fussgängern vorbehalten, der bestehende Eingang zwischen den Steigschulhäusern 1 und 2, sowie der neue Eingang zwischen dem alten Steigschulhaus und dem Neubau. Der neue Eingang dient auch als Feuerwehrzufahrt zum Schulhof.

Die Zufahrt für Autos, Fahrräder und die Feuerwehr zum Alters- und Pflegheim bildet den dritten Eingang. Dieser liegt zwischen dem Neubau und dem Altersheim. Sechs Parkplätze sind entlang der Parzellengrenze und zwischen den bestehenden Platanen angeordnet. Die Fahrradabstellplätze befinden sich unter der alten Sternwarte und in einem Unterstand entlang der Friedbergstrasse. Dieser Unterstand dient auch als Containerabstellplatz.

So kann der Schulhof von jeglicher Zwangsmöblierung freigehalten werden und es lässt sich ein grosszügiger Allwetterplatz anordnen für den ein Asphaltbelag mit einer Einstreuung von hellen Kieselsteinen vorgesehen ist. Dies gibt dem Allwetterplatz ein freundliches und robustes Gepräge und macht ihn zum idealen Spielort.

2. Untergeschoss

1. Untergeschoss

Erdgeschoss

2. Obergeschoss

1. Obergeschoss

Längsschnitt/ Ansicht Ost

Querschnitt/ Ansicht Nord

Architektur:

Harry Gugger Studio

Bauingenieur:

Eitel & partner

Fassadenplanung:

PPEngineering GmbH

Landschaftsarchitektur:

Studio Céline Baumann

Haustechnik:

Waldhauser + Hermann AG

Bauphysik:

Gartenmann Engineering AG

Brandschutz:

Quantum Brandschutz GmbH